Accessibility Development & Testing Resources

Hello All,

What follows will be posted on the JAWS for Windows, NVDA, and Windows 10 for Screen Reader Users groups on Groups.io.  So anyone who might be participating on more than one of the above need only respond on a single one of those venues.

As some of you know, I have a bachelor's degree in computer science and well over a decade of professional experience (now somewhat distant) as a programmer, analyst, and database administrator.  When I did my career switch, which turned out to be a semi-switch, to speech and language pathology I ended up having some focus on assistive technology in that realm and then expanded into blindness and low-vision areas when I came to work at the Virginia School for the Deaf and the Blind a few years back.  Since then I've been doing quite a bit of freelance work for the Technology Tutor Network of the Virginia Department for the Blind and Visually Impaired (DBVI).

One of the things that's now coming to the fore is that accessibility is no longer an afterthought, but organizations are trying to design it in from the start.  So, that leads to my first question:   What are the standards, conventions, and other resources those of you involved in software development would point someone to who's trying to get a grasp on what is involved in "designing in accessibility" from the get go?  There are probably resources that you all may know about that I certainly do not, at least not yet.