I believe you have the Dropbox Desktop app installed. It runs at the background and syncs your local folder with the cloud.
I suggest you uninstall Dropbox Desktop and reboot your PC. Without the Dropbox Desktop running in the background anymore, you are no longer automatically signed into Dropbox. You can safely delete your local Dropbox folder without affecting whatever is stored in the cloud.