Competition was Re: [nvda] Is NVDA really dying? Can I do anything to help?

erik burggraaf <erik@...>

The key to this situation as many have said is self-interest. As a programming student, I have a lot of computers around my house. my personal preference is for Mac, but the college is using absolutely nothing but visual studio for Windows. The complete Monopoly of visual studio in the college is extremely frustrating to me. Microsoft, for all its vaunted accessibility spending, still builds apps the way they did in the early 2000. Accessibility continues to be an afterthought despite millions of dollars spent on artificial intelligence is that are supposed to make our lives better in the future. They haven't told us how we're supposed to pay for those brand new accessibility features, when we can't get jobs because we can't get access to visual studio features and SharePoint team site. VScode accessibility is under development on Windows, though Microsoft admits, it is currently ignoring accessibility on the Mack. as a person who wants very much to develop on Mac OS, I find Microsoft limited attention to accessibility on the Mac extremely irritating. Since accessibility on Windows is only slightly better, a part of me wishes Windows would simply implode and go away. As a systems technician formerly earning my bread cleaning up viruses and security threats, I learned to revile parts of the windows computing experience.