NVDACon Asia: Report of Day 1


Bhavya shah
 

Dear all,
Saturday, 9th of July, 2016 witnessed the first day of the first ever
happening of NVDACon Asia on its Teamtalk server as well as through
RadioUdaan’s live stream. Listeners and attendees got a chance to tune
in to the
1 User General Chat Opener Forum – We discussed about a variety of
general subjects related to NVDA, its portability, flexibility,
add-ons and even shared our stories of success and how NVDA has
impacted our lives. Despite certain technicalities that had to be
dealt with during the end of the session, this session served as an
excellent kickstarter for the remainder of the conference.
2 Switching from JAWS to NVDA – We had extremely informative and
enlightening talks from Ashish Singla followed by Ashik Hirani, who
covered and very persuasively convinced many about why NVDA is a
competent and viable alternative to commercial options, talking about
functionality extensions in the form of add-on packages, NVDA’s
accessibility support for many popular applications, the insignificant
learning curve between a JAWS to NVDA transition, elucidating all
myths and misconceptions people might have in mind along the way. Due
to major interest and receipt of questions on this topic, this session
had to be significantly extended.
3 Connecting and Contributing to Wider NVDA Communities – In this
session, Bhavya Shah and Waqas Ramzan spoke about a variety of simple
to complex, little to big, ways and means NVDA users and enthusiasts
could contribute towards the progression and proliferation of NVDA,
such as joining various NVDA communities, user forums, add-on portals,
as well as translating NVDA. The importance of this community-driven
screen reader was emphasized and listeners and participants were
encouraged to play their part to help.
On the whole, Day 1 of NVDACon Asia was hugely successful, with a
satisfactory turnout at the Teamtalk server, and over a thousand
listeners hearing its live stream. We had fruitful discussions on the
first day, which will continue throughout the second day of NVDACon
Asia too – 10th of July, 2016.
What can you expect from Day 2 of NVDACon Asia is briefly highlighted
as follows:
Session 4 the BlindHelp Project by the BlindHelp Team – 12:30 p.m.
UTC/GMT, 5:30 p.m. Pakistan time, 6:00 p.m. India time, 9:30 p.m.
Malaysia time
Session 5 Asian Language Reading Tools & Text to Speech Support by
Mahesh Khosla – 1:30 p.m. UTC/GMT, 6:30 p.m. Pakistan time, 7:00 p.m.
India time, 10:30 p.m. Malaysia time
Session 6 Keynote Address by the NVDA India Team – 2:30 p.m. UTC/GMT,
7:30 p.m. Pakistan time, 8:00 p.m. India time, 11:30 p.m. Malaysia
time
Conference Schedule: www.blindhelp.tk/nvdaconasia/schedule
Please do listen to NVDACon Asia live via RadioUdaan
(www.radioudaan.com) or by participating directly in our Teamtalk
server (instructions at www.blindhelp.tk/nvdaconasia/participate).
Looking forward to an even bigger turnout and listenership today, and
an equally useful and knowledgeable day of conferencing and
presentations by our dignified speakers today as well!
Best Regards,
NVDACon Asia Planning Committee
www.blindhelp.tk/nvdaconasia

--
Warm Regards
Bhavya Shah
Using NVDA (Non Visual Desktop Access) free and open source screen
reader for Microsoft Windows
To download a copy of the free screen reader NVDA, please visit
http://www.nvaccess.org/
Using Google Talkback on Motorolla G second generation Lollipop 5.0.2
Reach me through the following means:
Mobile: +91 7506221750
E-mail id: bhavya.shah125@gmail.com
Skype id : bhavya.09

Join nvda@nvda.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.