Re: NVDA adding and changing settings

Gene

You can't ever assume anything when you issue a command without feedback.  I issue commands, now and then and, even though I issue them correctly, I have to issue them again.  But there is a way to check very easily.  Close the document or the program and see if you are asked if you want to save the changes.

And we are discussing what happens in terms of no feedback when you save an already saved document.  We don't know if the person is discussing that or discussing the lack of a save as dialog the first time a document is saved.

Gene

----- Original Message -----
Sent: Thursday, November 07, 2019 9:44 AM
Subject: Re: [nvda] NVDA adding and changing settings

I never ever hear document saved, never have ever since I started learning how to use doss in 1994 or so. But yeah control s and if you hear nothing you can assume the document has ben saved.

Sarah Alawami, owner of TFFP. . For more info go to our website. This is also our libsyn page as well.

to subscribe to the feed click here

Our telegram channel is also a good place for an announce only in regard to podcasts, contests, etc.

Our discord is where you will know when we go live on youtube, twitch and mixer. Thanks Restream staff.

Finally, to become a patron and help support the podcast go here

On 7 Nov 2019, at 3:56, Chris Mullins wrote:

Hi

I have been using screen readers for years, though not WindowEyes, and cannot remember a time when i relied on a “document saved” message appearing.  When editing a document in Word or Notepad, Control+s is the shortcut to save your document without exiting from it.  Using this shortcut implies that you want to save your document contents at that point. If you then use alt+f4 to close the document, it will close. 

If your document contains unsaved changes and you try to close it using Alt+f4, you will get a message asking if you want to save the document or not  .  At this point you have 3 choices: