Re: When nvda keeps turning itself on any time another program opens or shuts

Hi,

So, you want to talk to an NVDA programmer? No need to write to us directly – I am an NVDA programmer/code contributor.

Based on the discussion I’m seeing in front of me, we need to clarify a few things before we continue:

• NVDA startup options: there are two options found under NVDA Settings/General category. The first one named “Automatically start NVDA after I log on to Windows” will ask NVDA to come up when you log into Windows. The second option named “Use NVDA on the Windows logon screen (requires administrator privileges)" Will ask NVDA to come up in User Account Control, logon window and other secure screens. The option you should be looking at is the second one, not the first one.
  • Is the secure screen copy of NVDA a separate NVDA version: yes and no. When you press Control+Alt+Delete to invoke Windows sign-in dialog or User Account Control shows up, the same NVDA executable will run but will pull in settings from system configuration. In short, the regular NVDA will be suspended as long as a secure screen is up (describing how this is possible will require a detailed discussion of certain NVDA and Windows internals; I’ll answer it if you all want me to describe it).