Re: How to spell out Roman numerals

Luke Davis

On Sun, 8 Nov 2020, Brian Vogel wrote:

I'd have to say that I disagree with you about regular expressions not being confusing, and particularly to those who don't have a programming background
Okay, I was probably too cavalier in saying that.
They can be confusing, especially in the more advanced concepts.
I have been using them for nearly 25 years, and I still have to refresh myself on certain details from time to time.
But the basics of what they are doing does not have to be confusing. You can learn to pick them apart and understand more about what's going on then just seeing a pile of weird parentheticals and punctuations. You may not always understand the depths of some esoteric construction, but i believe the basics can be learned without a programming background, at least enough to use them for solving moderate problems.

Getting mad ninja skills with them takes years of familiarity, as does anything, even spoken languages.

with regular expressions is clearly fresher and better than mine is.As you know from my private e-mail to you, while I can figure out how one can capture
I don't know about that, but it may be more twisty. I started with writing and debugging expressions used in the very old days to fight email spam, before the big companies took over that business. Some of those expressions could be mind blowing, hair pulling, and thousands of characters long. I was very much thrown in the deep end and had to learn to swim or else.

the Roman numerals one through four, or five through eight, with a single "compact" regular expression pattern match I have no idea how one would then have
that match parsed out for replacement as individual letters.  If you want the individual letters, things get much more messy.
As far as I can tell, it can't be done except as we've done it. There is no cleaner way. Though I'd love to learn of one.