Re: PowerPoint: reading tables in presentation view

Pranav Lal

Hi all,

I second third and whatever number that request for better powwerpoint support. I need to use the program all the time and NVDA’s support is significantly lacking. I have not tried jaws and narrator.

One problem is tables as has already been highlighted in this thread. The next issue is the reporting of object and slide alignment. I need to know if all elements on a slide are visible. Yes, we do get that announcement but suppose I have a table obscured by a picture, where should I move the picture to make sure that both the table and picture are visible?

The last issue is playing media in slide show mode. I cannot activate any media in slide show mode.

There is training material on Powerpoint from nvaccess but it does not cover the above points.

Pranav

From: nvda@nvda.groups.io <nvda@nvda.groups.io> On Behalf Of Sandra Pilz
Sent: Thursday, April 22, 2021 2:19 AM
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: Re: [nvda] PowerPoint: reading tables in presentation view

Thank you, Ben and Eilana.

I agree, I think it would be good if we had better PowerPoint support. When I went to uni 10-15 years ago, I hardly ever had to use PowerPoint. Now I started another course and have to work through several presentations a week. And may be in business contexts, PowerPoint has been more widely used for a longer time.

Regards

Sandra

Am 21.04.2021 um 06:19 schrieb Eilana Benish:

I also use JAWS as secondary screen reader

but JAWS does not read headings on my presentation. and I have title place Holder shape in each slide.

Also it seems that JAWS reads bulleted text as  graphics

Both NVDA and JAWS should recognize when the object is a shape with text in that shape, and when it is a picture…

And sometimes when I am moving with down arrow between slides in edit mode JAWS announces with each slide  the slide number and then the words know selection.