Re: NVDA and Fractions

Brian's Mail list account BY <bglists@...>

Which synth. Sappi 5 and 4 tends to use abbreviations expanded that one cannot seem to alter, though why it should be dependent on what goes before in such a fashion is very odd indeed.
I know that in a uk post code containing something like 8NY sapi costently says 5 New York.
Brian

bglists@...
Sent via blueyonder.
Please address personal email to:-
briang1@..., putting 'Brian Gaff'
in the display name field.

----- Original Message -----
To: <nvda@nvda.groups.io>
Sent: Monday, October 17, 2016 6:30 PM
Subject: [nvda] NVDA and Fractions

Hello All,

On the JFW group a thread has started entitled, How to insert a 1-digit fraction into a 2013 word document ( https://jfw.groups.io/g/main/topic/how_to_insert_a_1_digit/2911704?p=,,,100,0,0,0::RecentPostDate%2FSticky,,,100,2,0,2911704 )

I started playing with NVDA and Window-Eyes to see how they'd handle three-character fraction designations versus single vulgar fraction characters for vulgar fractions other than one fourth, one half, and three quarters. With NVDA I've run into an interesting issue that I cannot seem to fix in the context of writing something incredibly common: a recipe. Virtually any recipe you name might contain a fraction of a cup of something. When I use one slash three for one third, or two slash three for two thirds, the word cup that follows it is consistently announced as Cuban Pesos, not cup. This is not true when I use a vulgar fraction character ahead of the word cup, and NVDA does what I consider the more natural thing and doesn't announce "vulgar" or "vulgar fraction" followed by one third or two thirds, but just says the fractional amount and the word cup gets said as cup.