Topics

I am interested in programming for NVDA

Stephanie Watts

Hello,

I am interested in programming for NVDA. However, I have very little programming experience. Any suggestions for where I should begin?

Thank you kindly.

Stephanie

Hi Stephanie,

Thanks for your interest in making NVDA better through coding.

I see that you have limited programming experience. Can you tell us which programming language you are familiar with? Or, for that matter, do you have any experience with Python? I ask these so I and other developers can tailor the answers to your needs.

Cheers,

Joseph

From: nvda@nvda.groups.io [mailto:nvda@nvda.groups.io] On Behalf Of swwatts3@...
Sent: Thursday, August 10, 2017 9:05 AM
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: [nvda] I am interested in programming for NVDA

Hello,

I am interested in programming for NVDA. However, I have very little programming experience. Any suggestions for where I should begin?

Thank you kindly.

Stephanie

Tony Ballou

Hi,

I'm not a programmer either, however, I can tell you that it is written in the Python programming language which I do have an interest in learning myself. So, we are in the same boat here. 

Tony

On 8/10/2017 12:04 PM, swwatts3@... wrote:
 Hello,

Thank you kindly.

Stephanie

Stephanie Watts

Hi Joseph and Tony,

I apologize for the misleading post earlier.  I have no experience with Python and very limited coding experience with HTML. 

By way of background, I have used NVDA intermitently over the past few years and have grown to like the program.  I am impressed by the NVDA community and those who continue to dedicate time and effort to making it a viable screen reader alternative for use in business and education settings.  Because I have always been interested in learning to code, I thought this would be a perfect way to combine my desire to learn with a worthwhile endeavor like NVDA.