Topics

Windows OneCore voices don't appear correctly in the list of synthesizers


Louise Pfau
 

Hi Joseph.  Sorry about that.  I've already tried to send the log.  Thanks for the information about JAWS.

Louise


 

Hi,

No need to send the log to me as the issue was resolved.

As for JAWS 16, to digress a bit, I recommend not using that anymore as JAWS 16 is no longer supported by Vispero in an active basis. Besides, JAWS 16 came out before Windows 10 made its public debut in July 2015 (JAWS 16 came out in 2014), so from a practical viewpoint, JAWS 16 is incompatible with Windows 10 – you will need at least JAWS 17 for slightly better functionality, and if using Windows 10 May 2020 Update, JAWS 2019 or later is a must. I won’t go into specific details as this is not a JAWS list (I can do so on a dedicated Windows 10 forum which I lead).

Cheers,

Joseph

 

From: nvda@nvda.groups.io <nvda@nvda.groups.io> On Behalf Of Louise Pfau
Sent: Wednesday, August 26, 2020 3:03 PM
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: Re: [nvda] Windows OneCore voices don't appear correctly in the list of synthesizers

 

Hi Joseph.  Unchecking the "Compatibility for" checkbox fixed the issue.  I also did that with JAWS 16.  The Microsoft disability answer desk agent had checked both boxes in an attempt to resolve the issue of Microsoft Edge and Google Chrom crashing with JAWS and NVDA.  I'll report the conflit with the synthesizers to them.  In the meantime, I'll try to send you the complete NVDA log privately again.

Thanks,

Louise


Louise Pfau
 

Hi Joseph.  Unchecking the "Compatibility for" checkbox fixed the issue.  I also did that with JAWS 16.  The Microsoft disability answer desk agent had checked both boxes in an attempt to resolve the issue of Microsoft Edge and Google Chrom crashing with JAWS and NVDA.  I'll report the conflit with the synthesizers to them.  In the meantime, I'll try to send you the complete NVDA log privately again.

Thanks,

Louise


 

Hi,

If you sent me the log, I didn’t get it yet.

As for the immediate issue at hand: based on Windows version as reported by Python, it appears one of two things happened:

  1. NVDA is somehow told to run in Windows 8 compatibility mode (to check, go to Desktop, select but do not press Enter on NVDA icon, press Alt+Enter, then go to Compatibility tab and see if any checkboxes are checked).
  2. Windows compatibility manifest info for NVDA has somehow become corrupt. NVDA gets compatibility manifest values from Python in recent NVDA releases, which controls which version of Windows compatibility shims (compatibility layer code) Python (and in extension, NVDA) will run under. This will require a “thorough” reinstall – not only removing NVDA and all its files and traces from the system, it will also require removing user settings altogether.

Cheers,

Joseph

 

From: nvda@nvda.groups.io <nvda@nvda.groups.io> On Behalf Of Louise Pfau
Sent: Tuesday, August 25, 2020 1:08 PM
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: Re: [nvda] Windows OneCore voices don't appear correctly in the list of synthesizers

 

Hi.  The information in the log is very similar, except the windows version is listed as "Windows Version 6.2.9200 work station".  I've sent the complete log to Joseph as well.

Louise


Louise Pfau
 

Hi.  The information in the log is very similar, except the windows version is listed as "Windows Version 6.2.9200 work station".  I've sent the complete log to Joseph as well.

Louise


Chris
 

Try restarting rather than shutting down, then see if that makes a difference

 

 

 

 

 

From: Louise Pfau
Sent: 25 August 2020 19:36
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: Re: [nvda] Windows OneCore voices don't appear correctly in the list of synthesizers

 

Hi.  I am not currently using any add-ons.  I shut down my desktop computer every night.  No synthesizer is showing as chosen when I activate the "Select a synthesizer" dialog.  When I uninstalled then reinstalled NVDA, the default synthesizer was "ESpeak-NG".  I was able at that point to switch to the "Windows OneCore voices" through the "Select a synthesizer" dialog, although the "Windows OneCore voices" haven't shown up since.  I haven't tried to change synthesizers again since I have the settings I like.  The "Windows OneCore Voices" and "SAPI 5" synthesizers do sound identical.

Louise

 


Chris Mullins
 

Hi Louise

Press NVDA+f1 to open the NVDA log and then press Control+home to move to the beginning of it.  Does it look anything like the following, particularly around 15 lines in where the synth driver is loaded?

 

INFO - __main__ (10:03:22.350) - MainThread (4448):

Starting NVDA version 2020.2

INFO - core.main (10:03:22.977) - MainThread (4448):

Config dir: C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Roaming\nvda

INFO - config.ConfigManager._loadConfig (10:03:22.977) - MainThread (4448):

Loading config: C:\Users\Chris\AppData\Roaming\nvda\nvda.ini

INFO - core.main (10:03:23.401) - MainThread (4448):

Using Windows version 10.0.19041 workstation

INFO - core.main (10:03:23.401) - MainThread (4448):

Using Python version 3.7.8 (tags/v3.7.8:4b47a5b6ba, Jun 28 2020, 07:55:33) [MSC v.1916 32 bit (Intel)]

INFO - core.main (10:03:23.401) - MainThread (4448):

Using comtypes version 1.1.7

INFO - core.main (10:03:23.401) - MainThread (4448):

Using configobj version 5.1.0 with validate version 1.0.1

INFO - synthDriverHandler.setSynth (10:03:26.193) - MainThread (4448):

Loaded synthDriver oneCore

INFO - core.main (10:03:26.193) - MainThread (4448):

Using wx version 4.0.3 msw (phoenix) wxWidgets 3.0.5 with six version 1.12.0

INFO - brailleInput.initialize (10:03:26.201) - MainThread (4448):

Braille input initialized

INFO - braille.initialize (10:03:26.203) - MainThread (4448):

Using liblouis version 3.14.0

INFO - braille.initialize (10:03:26.213) - MainThread (4448):

Using pySerial version 3.4

INFO - braille.BrailleHandler.setDisplayByName (10:03:26.234) - MainThread (4448):

Loaded braille display driver noBraille, current display has 0 cells.

INFO - core.main (10:03:26.901) - MainThread (4448):

Java Access Bridge support initialized

INFO - _UIAHandler.UIAHandler.MTAThreadFunc (10:03:26.992) - _UIAHandler.UIAHandler.MTAThread (8032):

UIAutomation: IUIAutomation6

INFO - core.main (10:03:29.847) - MainThread (4448):

NVDA initialized

 

Cheers

Chris

 

 

From: Louise Pfau
Sent: 25 August 2020 19:36
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: Re: [nvda] Windows OneCore voices don't appear correctly in the listof synthesizers

 

Hi.  I am not currently using any add-ons.  I shut down my desktop computer every night.  No synthesizer is showing as chosen when I activate the "Select a synthesizer" dialog.  When I uninstalled then reinstalled NVDA, the default synthesizer was "ESpeak-NG".  I was able at that point to switch to the "Windows OneCore voices" through the "Select a synthesizer" dialog, although the "Windows OneCore voices" haven't shown up since.  I haven't tried to change synthesizers again since I have the settings I like.  The "Windows OneCore Voices" and "SAPI 5" synthesizers do sound identical.

Louise

 


Louise Pfau
 

Hi.  I am not currently using any add-ons.  I shut down my desktop computer every night.  No synthesizer is showing as chosen when I activate the "Select a synthesizer" dialog.  When I uninstalled then reinstalled NVDA, the default synthesizer was "ESpeak-NG".  I was able at that point to switch to the "Windows OneCore voices" through the "Select a synthesizer" dialog, although the "Windows OneCore voices" haven't shown up since.  I haven't tried to change synthesizers again since I have the settings I like.  The "Windows OneCore Voices" and "SAPI 5" synthesizers do sound identical.

Louise


Luke Davis
 

Are you actually sure that One Core is what is speaking? SAPI5 David sounds a lot like One Core David.

Also, when you go to the NVDA speech dialog (NVDA+ctrl+s), what synth is showing as chosen?

Luke


Quentin Christensen
 

Are you using any NVDA add-ons?  If so, if you press NVDA+Q, then down arrow to "Restart with add-ons disabled" does it make a difference?

My reading of the thread is that everything is working - OneCore Voices are working and reading just fine, it's just that they aren't listed in the Synthesizer dialog, correct?

(In which case, it's still a puzzle, but at least not preventing you from using your computer, which is the main thing).

Have you restarted your computer lately?  As in restart from the Windows start menu, not just closed the lid (if you have a laptop)?  Computers can go a long time these days without properly restarting, but every now and then bugs creep in which a restart fixes.

Do you have NVDA set to start automatically?  If so, if you press CONTROL+ALT+N to restart NVDA, is OneCore listed then?  The only thing I can think of is whether something hasn't finished loading by the time NVDA starts, and although the synthesizer works fine, for some reason the synthesizer dialog isn't getting a full list of available synthesizers...

Otherwise I can't think of what it could be offhand.

Quentin.

On Mon, Aug 24, 2020 at 9:12 AM Jackie <abletec@...> wrote:
So 2 things. Remember that you've got 1core voices but also Microsoft
desktop voices. I'm just saying that to ensure you don't confuse the
2.

Next, Louise have you tried a portable install of NVDA just for the
halibut to see if they appear there? Lastly, what is your machine
localized to?

On 8/23/20, Louise Pfau <louise.pfau@...> wrote:
> Hi.  The "Windows OneCore voices" work correctly with "Microsoft Narrator",
> and when I looked through the settings, the "English (US)" voice pack was
> listed as installed.  The "Windows OneCore voices" are speaking correctly
> with NVDA, although they don't appear correctly in the list of
> synthesizers.
>
> Thanks,
>
> Louise
>
>
>
>


--
Subscribe to a WordPress for Newbies Mailing List by sending a message to:
wp4newbs-request@... with 'subscribe' in the Subject field OR by
visiting the list page at http://www.freelists.org/list/wp4newbs
& check out my sites at www.brightstarsweb.com & www.mysitesbeenhacked.com





--
Quentin Christensen
Training and Support Manager


Jackie
 

So 2 things. Remember that you've got 1core voices but also Microsoft
desktop voices. I'm just saying that to ensure you don't confuse the
2.

Next, Louise have you tried a portable install of NVDA just for the
halibut to see if they appear there? Lastly, what is your machine
localized to?

On 8/23/20, Louise Pfau <louise.pfau@...> wrote:
Hi.  The "Windows OneCore voices" work correctly with "Microsoft Narrator",
and when I looked through the settings, the "English (US)" voice pack was
listed as installed.  The "Windows OneCore voices" are speaking correctly
with NVDA, although they don't appear correctly in the list of
synthesizers.

Thanks,

Louise



--
Subscribe to a WordPress for Newbies Mailing List by sending a message to:
wp4newbs-request@... with 'subscribe' in the Subject field OR by
visiting the list page at http://www.freelists.org/list/wp4newbs
& check out my sites at www.brightstarsweb.com & www.mysitesbeenhacked.com


Louise Pfau
 

Hi.  The "Windows OneCore voices" work correctly with "Microsoft Narrator", and when I looked through the settings, the "English (US)" voice pack was listed as installed.  The "Windows OneCore voices" are speaking correctly with NVDA, although they don't appear correctly in the list of synthesizers.

Thanks,

Louise


Luke Davis
 

On Sat, 22 Aug 2020, Louise Pfau wrote:

Hi.  I'm running "Microsoft Windows Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.450)" and "NVDA 2020.02". 
I just reset the configuration to the factory default, and the "Windows OneCore voices" still don't show up correctly in the "Select a synthesizer" dialog.
After you try Joseph's test, you may want to try this.

It is possible that Windows removed the voices for some reason. To try to get them back, press your windows key and type "speech".
Move down to "speech settings", and press enter.
Then tab over to the "Manage voices" group, and you should be on the "add voices" button.
Press enter on that, and you will be able to enter and choose your language, and then install the appropriate voice pack(s).
In this case, you'll want to install the English (US) voice pack.
Once you select and install the voice, close everything and restart NVDA.

This is all assuming that the English (US) voice pack is not already installed.

Luke


 

Hi,

What happens if you press Control+Windows+Enter to start Narrator? Narrator is supposed to use Windows OneCore voices by default, and if Narrator does come up talking, chances are that it might be something going on with NVDA or an add-on (or two) if you did install add-ons.

Cheers,

Joseph

 

From: nvda@nvda.groups.io <nvda@nvda.groups.io> On Behalf Of Louise Pfau
Sent: Saturday, August 22, 2020 11:30 AM
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: Re: [nvda] Windows OneCore voices don't appear correctly in the list of synthesizers

 

Hi.  I'm running "Microsoft Windows Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.450)" and "NVDA 2020.02". 
I just reset the configuration to the factory default, and the "Windows OneCore voices" still don't show up correctly in the "Select a synthesizer" dialog.

Thanks,

Louise


Louise Pfau
 

Hi.  I'm running "Microsoft Windows Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.450)" and "NVDA 2020.02". 
I just reset the configuration to the factory default, and the "Windows OneCore voices" still don't show up correctly in the "Select a synthesizer" dialog.

Thanks,

Louise


Luke Davis
 

Louise, exactly which version of Windows 10 and NVDA are you running?

To get the windows 10 version, press the windows key, type "winver" (without the quotes), and press enter.
For NVDA, press NVDA+n, h, a.

If you press NVDA+R three times quickly, NVDA will be reset to factory defaults. If you do that, and then look for One Core in the dropdown available from NVDA+ctrl+s, do you find it?

Luke


Louise Pfau
 

Hi.  When I opened the "Select a synthesizer" dialog, the combobox was described as "collapsed", and no option was highlighted.  When I scrolled through the list, the "Windows OneCore voices" were not listed.  The choices were "ESpeak-NG", "SAPI4", "SAPI5", and "No Speech".  The "Windows OneCore voices" talk though.  I'm not sure what could be going on.

Thanks,

Louise


Jackie
 

Louise, did you perchance look for "windows OneCore voices? That's how
it's referenced in my settings. It's just above the no speech synth,
at least in my list.

On 8/21/20, Roger Stewart <paganus2@...> wrote:
I can't duplicate this here. One Core voices are in the list of synths
in NVDA. Using latest NVDA stable and latest Win 10 2004.
Roger








On 8/21/2020 4:10 PM, Louise Pfau wrote:
Hi.  I believe I may have accidentally discovered a discrepancy in the
“Select a synthesizer” dialog with regard to the “Windows OneCore”
voices.  They don’t appear in the list, even though they are the
default synthesizer for Windows 10.  I hadn’t intended to change the
synthesizer, but I triggerd the command.  I was able to replicate the
problem by uninstalling then reinstalling NVDA.  I’m running the most
recent versions of both NVDA and Windows 10.  I’ve just joined the
group, and it’s not in my list of groups in the main groups.io
interface yet, so I can’t check the archive to see if this question
has already been posted.
Thanks,
Louise




--
Subscribe to a WordPress for Newbies Mailing List by sending a message to:
wp4newbs-request@... with 'subscribe' in the Subject field OR by
visiting the list page at http://www.freelists.org/list/wp4newbs
& check out my sites at www.brightstarsweb.com & www.mysitesbeenhacked.com


Roger Stewart
 

I can't duplicate this here. One Core voices are in the list of synths in NVDA. Using latest NVDA stable and latest Win 10 2004.
Roger








On 8/21/2020 4:10 PM, Louise Pfau wrote:
Hi.  I believe I may have accidentally discovered a discrepancy in the “Select a synthesizer” dialog with regard to the “Windows OneCore” voices.  They don’t appear in the list, even though they are the default synthesizer for Windows 10.  I hadn’t intended to change the synthesizer, but I triggerd the command.  I was able to replicate the problem by uninstalling then reinstalling NVDA.  I’m running the most recent versions of both NVDA and Windows 10.  I’ve just joined the group, and it’s not in my list of groups in the main groups.io interface yet, so I can’t check the archive to see if this question has already been posted.
 
Thanks,
 
Louise



Louise Pfau <lpfau@...>
 

Hi.  I believe I may have accidentally discovered a discrepancy in the “Select a synthesizer” dialog with regard to the “Windows OneCore” voices.  They don’t appear in the list, even though they are the default synthesizer for Windows 10.  I hadn’t intended to change the synthesizer, but I triggerd the command.  I was able to replicate the problem by uninstalling then reinstalling NVDA.  I’m running the most recent versions of both NVDA and Windows 10.  I’ve just joined the group, and it’s not in my list of groups in the main groups.io interface yet, so I can’t check the archive to see if this question has already been posted.
 
Thanks,
 
Louise