Substitute punctuation marks with sounds

Tony Malykh

Hello all,

Is there a way to substitute punctuation marks with custom sounds? I am a developer and often times I have to listen to tongue twisters of punctuation marks, like "left bracket right brace left paren ..." I wish to replace all these parens and brackets with sounds. Is there a way to do so in NVDA?

Thanks
Tony

Damien Garwood <damien@...>

Hi,
NVDA itself can't do this.
Having said that, in my opinion, that is a pretty darn cool idea for an addon. Replacing symbols, letters, or even whole words/strings with sound effects.
I know JAWS has, or at least used to have, a feature like that. I had tons of fun with it. Never thought it could come into practical use though. But yeah. Certainly as a developer, trying to find stray or missing braces, brackets, parentheses, quotes, improperly escaped characters etc is very tricky, and either involves arrowing through character by character, or sit there and listen to it read the whole line including punctuation, which gets rather tedious rather quickly.
Cheers.
Damien.

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Friday, February 02, 2018 10:16 PM
To: nvda@nvda.groups.io
Subject: [nvda] Substitute punctuation marks with sounds

Hello all,

Is there a way to substitute punctuation marks with custom sounds? I am
a developer and often times I have to listen to tongue twisters of
punctuation marks, like "left bracket right brace left paren ..." I wish
to replace all these parens and brackets with sounds. Is there a way to
do so in NVDA?

Thanks
Tony

Rayn Darren <rayndarren@...>

I totally agree, this is a fantastic idea for an addon! An addition would be a sound when encountering an open bracket, if in fact there is a closing one the sound would be different then a non-paired bracket. I know nothing about python and have worked very little with sound, but would love to both learn and help with this, how do we go about getting it made?